Skip to main content Skip to main content

Messiaen's Quartet for the End of Time

Olivier Messiaen composed and premiered this groundbreaking piece, inspired by text from the Book of Revelations, in January 1941, performing with his fellow prisoners in Stalag VIIIA, Görlitz, Germany, using scavenged instruments, outdoors, and in the rain. This complex and deeply moving 50-minute quartet features musicians from the Vermont Symphony Orchestra and TURNmusic including cellist Emily Taubl, violinist Brooke Quiggins, pianist Claire Black, and clarinetist Dan Liptak. Vermont composer Matt LaRocca will provide musical and historical insight before the concert, and begin a conversation afterwards.

Date & Time

February 3, 2018


More Info

Event Website


$20 in advance, $25 day of the concert

Nightlife & Entertainment Performing Arts & Dance Concert