Skip to main content Skip to main content

Norwich University Writers Series: John Crowley

The Norwich University Writers Series presents award-winning novelist John Crowley reading from and discussing his work.

The Norwich University Writers Series welcomes author John Crowley  on Thursday, Oct. 11, at 4 p.m. in the Chaplin Hall Gallery. Crowley is one of the most admired and respected authors of the literature of the fantastic. The author of over a dozen novels and four collections of short fiction, he has won the World Fantasy Award three times, including the 2006 award for Lifetime Achievement. Other awards include the Mythopoeic Award, Locus Award, and American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Literature. Earlier this year, his short story “Spring Break” won the Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award, while new novel “Ka: Dar Oakley in the Ruin of Ym” earned the author a second Mythopoeic Award. Ka is also a finalist for this year’s World Fantasy Award. Other notable works include novels “Engine Summer” and “Lord Byron’s Novel,” novellas “Great Work of Time” and “The Summer of Shakespeare’s Heroines,” and the four novels of the Aegypt Cycle. Noted scholar and critic Harold Bloom hailed Crowley’s 1981 novel “Little, Big,” as “an imaginative masterpiece, in which the sense of wonder never subsides.” Bestselling author Neil Gaiman cites the novel as “one of my favorite books in the world.” The Los Angeles Times calls Ka “a beautiful, often dreamlike late masterpiece.” Crowley is a long-time teacher of creative writing at Yale University and a regular contributor of essays to Lapham’s Quarterly and Harper’s. He has also written scripts for numerous documentary films. A native of Presque Isle, Maine, he lives with his family in Massachusetts. The Writers Series is produced by the Norwich University College of Liberal Arts. All events are free and open to the public.

Date & Time

October 11, 2018

4:00PM - 5:00PM

More Info